PDA

View Full Version : Hey concerned! Like the SI cover you have. There's a Utah tie to that issue of SI.i

Corvan
03-11-2013, 11:37 AM
Do you know what it is?

concerned
03-11-2013, 11:45 AM
Do you know what it is?

no idea. this cover has special meaning for me. I was a young boy and Koufax was my hero. I was devastated when he was injured at 14-7 in the summer of 62 and the hated Giants caught the Dodger's and beat them in a three game playoff to win the pennant. I remember my dad driving home for work and telling me the Dodgers had lost the playoff. (My brother was a huge Giants and Willie Mays fan).

That Xmas, I got a SI subscription; one of the first issues I received was this one; at least it is the one I remember. I saved it, along with a 65 SI cover of the Packers beating the Colts.

concerned
03-11-2013, 12:11 PM
no idea. this cover has special meaning for me. I was a young boy and Koufax was my hero. I was devastated when he was injured at 14-7 in the summer of 62 and the hated Giants caught the Dodger's and beat them in a three game playoff to win the pennant. I remember my dad driving home for work and telling me the Dodgers had lost the playoff. (My brother was a huge Giants and Willie Mays fan).

That Xmas, I got a SI subscription; one of the first issues I received was this one; at least it is the one I remember. I saved it, along with a 65 SI cover of the Packers beating the Colts.

Does it have to do with Wayne Estes? The more I think about it, that would have been a year earlier.

Corvan
03-11-2013, 12:39 PM
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1074575/1/index.htm

The Only Game In Panguitch, UtahBasketball is the winter sport obsession of small-town America, and nowhere is this more evident than in water-poor but tall-boy-rich Panguitch, where high school hero Wally Ortman stands in a vacant corral that serves as makeshift court for the neighborhood