PDA

View Full Version : Sending children on a mission

arizonaute
03-06-2013, 06:47 PM
Son just turned 18 and 7 days later got his call. He will finish high school on May 24th and enter the Provo mtc June 5th. He is headed to Chile Orsorno. I am not feeling overtly sad or glad right now. Proud of him for being able and wanting to go. He is pretty excited.

LA Ute
03-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Wow, that seems so quick - but I went the fall after I graduated, way back when, and that worked out perfectly for me.

LA Ute
03-06-2013, 06:55 PM
Son just turned 18 and 7 days later got his call. He will finish high school on May 24th and enter the Provo mtc June 5th. He is headed to Chile Orsorno. I am not feeling overtly sad or glad right now. Proud of him for being able and wanting to go. He is pretty excited.

And congrats!

San Diego Ute Fan
03-06-2013, 07:05 PM
That's great! I left for mine 6 months after HS. Sooner is better.

wuapinmon
03-06-2013, 07:08 PM
Don't worry about the lad in Chile. It's a fabulous place full of good people.

Dawminator
03-06-2013, 08:11 PM
I went into the MTC in June of 03, several weeks after graduation. If I could do it, I am sure your son will be fine.

stretchiute
03-06-2013, 09:00 PM
My in-laws, who happen to be visiting us in Gilbert, were the mission President(s) in Osorno 2008-11. They are super cool and if he wants to chat to them, I'm sure they would be up for it.

Message me if interested. Also, we know 5-6 recently returned missionaries from that mission who live in Mesa-Gilbert if you guys have questions

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

arizonaute
03-07-2013, 12:24 PM
I graduated HS in may and was in the MTC in Oct. I think it is great he is leaving soon. Get on with it and when he gets back can start right into summer school. For only the price on a small suv you too can have your son go on a life altering journey for two years : )

GarthUte
03-07-2013, 12:44 PM